Dungeons & Dragons Lore Wiki

Welcome to the Dungeons & Dragons Lore Wiki, an encyclopedia of official first-party D&D canon from 1974 to the current day.

We need editors! See the editing guidelines for ways to contribute.

READ MORE

Dungeons & Dragons Lore Wiki
Advertisement

Move earth is a spell that allows the caster to move soil (but not stone), and thus reshape natural terrain.

Publication history[]

Original D&D[]

Move earth first appeared in Dungeons & Dragons 3-Volume Set, Men & Magic (1974), as a 6th-level magic-user spell.

Basic D&D[]

Move earth returned in the Expert Set (B/X) (1981), as a 6th-level magic-user spell.

It appeared again in the Companion Rules (BECMI) (1984) and the Rules Cyclopedia (1991), again as a 6th-level magic-user spell.

AD&D 1st edition[]

Move earth returned in the Players Handbook (1e) (1978), as a 6th-level magic-user spell of the alteration school.

AD&D 2nd edition[]

Move earth returned in the Player's Handbook (2e) (1989), as a 6th-level wizard spell of the alteration school. The Tome of Magic (2e) (1991) also made move earth part of the school of elemental earth, while the Wizard's Spell Compendium Volume Three (1998) designated move earth a common spell.

D&D 3rd edition[]

Move earth returned in the Player's Handbook (3.0) (2000) and Player's Handbook (3.5) (2003). In both books it was a 6th-level spell of the transmutation school, available to sorcerers and wizards. In D&D 3.5, it also had the earth descriptor.

D&D 5th edition[]

Move earth returned in the Player's Handbook (5e) (2014), as a 6th-level spell of the transmutation school, available to druids, sorcerers, and wizards.

External links[]

Advertisement